
 
 

Considering Becoming an Owner-Builder? 
 

 
 

Important information you need to know BEFORE  pulling your permit! 
 

The term “Owner-Builder” can mean three different things: 
 “Owner as Worker”, “Owner as Contractor” or “Owner as Employer” 

 
Understand each has Benefits and Risks 

           
Hiring a California Licensed Contractor means you do not personally perform any of the construction work, 
the permit is not taken out in your name, you are not personally responsible for the construction and you are 
not an Owner-Builder.  Instead, you become a “Customer” and California law provides you the benefit of 
protection from poor workmanship, failure to finish the job and financial risk due to worker injury. 

 
 
Owner-as-Worker is a type of Owner-Builder where you personally perform the construction work, the permit 
is taken out in your name and you are personally responsible for the construction management, knowledge, 
workmanship, and completion of the job.  You benefit by not paying others to perform this work for you and 
your risk depends on your own ability to complete the job successfully. 

 
 
Owner-as-Contractor is a type of Owner-Builder where you personally act as your own General Contractor, 
the permit is taken out in your name and you hire California licensed sub-contractors to perform portions of the 
construction work. WARNING: The benefit of protection provided by law when you hire only California licensed 
sub-contractors can turn to serious financial risk if you hire unlicensed contractors to perform any of the work. 
 
 
Owner-as-Employer is a type of Owner-Builder where you pay any unlicensed individual to perform any 
construction work valued at more than $500.00, the permit is taken out in your name and you are personally 
responsible for their employment requirements, supervision, performance, safety and welfare while on your 
property.  WARNING: Cost savings benefit can turn to serious financial risk if you fail to deduct payroll taxes 
or provide workers compensation insurance for each worker. 
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(Health and Safety Code Section 19827) The California Legislature declares an “urgent and 
statewide public interest in assuring” that contractors comply with Contractors’ License Law, 
Business and Professions Code and Workers’ Compensation Insurance requirements to ensure 
property owners are informed about, and protected from the following when improving their 
property as Owner-Builders: 
 

Fraudulent representations ▪ Liability for workers’ injuries ▪ Liability for material and labor costs 
unpaid by contractors ▪ Licensing requirements ▪ Employers’ tax liabilities 

 
Over 20,000 consumer complaints are filed each year. Many complaints relate to owner/builder 
projects and include workmanship and workers’ compensation issues.  Homeowners suffer 
financial harm due to defective workmanship and injured employees. 

 
Following are alarming examples of what has occurred with Owner-Builder permits: 

 
Example 1: Homeowner received insurance money to rebuild burned-down home. 
 Owner/Builder permit pulled to rebuild structure. 
 Unlicensed contractor built substandard structure – must be torn down and replaced. 
 Estimated financial injury is $225,000. 
 Additional financial injury - IRS threatened to tax insurance payout if house not completed by 

the end of the year. 
 

Example 2: Brother-in-law had active license but filed an exemption from Workers Comp. 
 Owner-Builder hires brother-in-law to install a new roof. 
 Employee falls and sustains multiple spinal and extremity fractures as well as a head injury 

and remains in a coma to this day. 
 The Owner-Builder, who has sold the home, is now a defendant in a lawsuit for reimbursement 

for benefits paid to the injured worker. 
 

Example 3: Employee of contractor without Workers Comp is hired by Owner-Builder to install 
septic system and suffers injury that results in permanent disability. 
 The Owner-Builder did not have a homeowner’s insurance policy on the house against which 

to submit a claim. 
 The Owner-Builder is now a defendant in a lawsuit for reimbursement for benefits paid to the 

injured worker. 
 

Did you know – unlicensed persons frequently have the property owner obtain an “Owner-
Builder” building permit which erroneously implies that the property owner is providing his or her 
own labor and material personally? 

 
Did you know – your homeowner’s insurance may not provide coverage for injuries sustained on 
your property by an unlicensed contractor and his/her employees?   

 
Did you know – if you are considered an “employer” under state and federal law, you must 
register with the state and federal government, withhold payroll taxes, provide workers 
compensation and disability insurance and contribute to unemployment compensation for each 
“employee”?  

 
Did you know – that if you fail to abide by these laws you may be subjected to serious financial 
risk? 
 

OWNERS BEWARE AND CONSIDER THE RISK BEFORE ACCEPTING FULL 
RESPONSIBILITY FOR YOUR CONSTRUCTION PERMIT 
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NOTICE 
 

Effective January 1, 2009 
 
Assembly Bill 2335 amends California Health and Safety Code, Section 19825, 
regarding disclosures and verifications required for all applicants seeking 
Owner-Builder construction permits. These new application requirements 
provide an enhanced level of consumer awareness and protection for property 
owners accepting the risks associated with Owner-Builder construction permits. 
 
“The Legislature hereby finds and declares that there is an urgent and statewide public 
interest in assuring that building contractors comply with the Contractors License Law…and 
provisions of law relating to Workers' Compensation Insurance for building construction, that 
property owners are informed about, and protected from, fraudulent representations, liability 
for workers’ injuries, liability for material and labor costs unpaid by contractors, licensing 
requirements, and employers’ tax liabilities when improving their property as owner-builders” 
 
THIS OFFICE WILL BE REQUIRING COMPLIANCE WITH THIS LAW AS FOLLOWS: 
 

If Licensed Contractor 
is the Permit Holder 

If Property Owner is the 
Permit Holder 

Who is to be the
Responsible Party? 

(Permit Holder) 

Verify Applicant’s 
License Applicability & 

Status (with CSLB) Prior 
to Issuing Permit  

Verify Property 
Owner’s 

Acknowledgment & 
Approval to Assume 

Liability for the 
Construction Project, 

by Verifying 
Completion of the 

NOTICE TO 
PROPERTY OWNER 
Form Prior to Issuing 

Permit 

Verify Property Owner’s 
Identification & 

Signature  

Verify Property Owner’s 
Designation & Signature 

on AUTHORIZED 
AGENT Form (if 

applicable) 

Property Owner 
Protected by 

Contractors License Law 

Property Owner is 
Legally Noticed by 
Owner-Builder Law 

New Construction Permit 
Application 

 


