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INTRODUCTION

The Safe Body Art Act was signed into Law on Oct. 9, 2011, and was developed to provide minimum
statewide standards for practitioners engaged in the business of tattooing, body piercing, branding, and
the application of permanent cosmetics in California. The requirements listed in California Health and
Safety Code Sections 119300 — 119328 are intended to protect both the practitioner and the client from
transmission of infectious diseases through the application of proper body art procedures and the control
of cross-contamination of instruments and supplies. A body art facility must meet requirements listed in
the California Health and Safety Code to offer or perform body art procedures to the public.

The Safe Body Art Act authorizes specified inspections by an enforcement officer, and would provide for
the suspension or revocation of a certificate of registration or a health permit in specified circumstances.
Performing body art without being registered, operation of a body art facility without a health permit, or
operation of a temporary body art event without a permit is a misdemeanor and would authorize the local
enforcement agency to assess an administrative penalty, in an amount not less than $25 and not more
than $1,000, for violating a provision of the bill. The local enforcement agency, in addition to these
penalties, can impose a penalty of up to three times the cost of the registration or permit on a practitioner,
owner of a body art facility, or sponsor of a temporary body art event who fails to obtain needed permits.

A person proposing to construct a body art facility or a mobile body art facility, other than a temporary
body art event booth, shall submit plans to the Plan Check Unit of the local enforcement agency. The
plans shall be approved in advance of the issuance of a building, plumbing, or electrical permit. All
required corrections must be made and the body art facility approved to open and issued a health permit
before body art can be performed in the facility.

This plan check guide has been developed to provide assistance to the facility owner/operator with the
Health and Safety Code requirements needed to open up a body art facility in Ventura County and provide
guidance when submitting plans to this division.

Body art is defined as body piercing, tattooing, branding, or application of permanent cosmetics.

Body art facility is defined as a specified building, section of a building, or vehicle in which a practitioner
performs or demonstrates for the purpose of instruction body art, including reception areas, the procedure
area, and the decontamination and sterilization area. “Body art facility” does not include a facility that
only pierces the ear with a disposable, single-use, pre-sterilized clasp and stud or solid needle that is
applied using a mechanical device to force the needle or stud through the ear.

Owner is defined as the person or persons whose name or names appear on the health permit, business
license, property deed, or rental agreement of the body art facility. A person acting as a principal of a
corporation or partnership, who employs practitioners to perform body art or other activity regulated by
the Safe Body Art Act.

Practitioner is defined as a person who performs body art on a client.

Vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has been fitted or designed to perform body art.
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BEFORE YOU START

Prior to opening a body art facility, contact the following agencies to obtain all necessary permits and
licenses to operate a business.

Planning or City Zoning — Some cities or the County may not allow body art facilities in certain
areas, or may not allow a body art facility at all. Check with the City Zoning Department or the County
Planning Department for approved locations.

Building and Safety — A building permit will be required when any construction involves electricity,
plumbing, or the construction of separate rooms. Plumbing code requires a backflow device between
equipment and the potable water source.

Business License — Some cities, or County if operating in an unincorporated area, may require a
business license to operate a body art facility.

Sign Restrictions — Some cities may regulate business signs. Contact the city Code Enforcement
Department for sign specifications or other requirements.

Fictitious Business Name — A fictitious business name is required if your business is named
anything other than your legal name. A fictitious business name can be filed with the County Clerk
and Recorders Office.

Seller’'s Permit — If you plan on buying wholesale items to be later sold in your body art facility, you
can contact the California State Board of Equalization to obtain a seller's permit.

City and County Contact Information

Camarillo

601 Carmen Dr.
Camarillo, CA 93010
(805) 388-5330

Ojai

401 S Ventura St.
Ojai, CA 93024
(805) 646-5581

Santa Paula

970 E Ventura St.
Santa Paula, CA 93030
(805) 933-4211

Ventura

501 Poli St.
Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 658-4715

Fillmore

250 Central Ave.
Fillmore, CA 93015
(805) 524-3701

Oxnard

214 S C St.
Oxnard, CA 93030
(805) 385-7925

Simi Valley

2929 Tapo Canyon Rd.
Simi Valley, CA 93063
(805) 850-1521

Westlake Village

31200 Oak Crest Dr.
Westlake Village, CA 91361
(818) 706-1613
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Moorpark

799 Moorpark Ave.
Moorpark, CA 93021
(805) 517-6200

Port Hueneme

250 N Ventura Rd.

Port Hueneme, CA 93041
(805) 986-6500

Thousand Oaks

2100 Thousand Oaks Blvd.
Thousand Oaks, CA 91362
(805) 499-2100

County of Ventura

800 S. Victoria Ave.
Ventura, CA 93009

(805) 654-2813

County Regulatory License
(805) 654-2371
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PLAN CHECK PROCESS

Before constructing a new body art facility, you must submit plans to the Ventura County
Environmental Health Division. The plans may be prepared by an architect, contractor, or owner
detailing all applicable requirements of this plan check guide.

A plan check fee will be required to be submitted to this division, along with the facility plans. The fee
schedules are available on our website at https://vcrma.org/body-art-program.

Plans will be reviewed as they are submitted electronically to this division. Plans shall be e-mailed to
VC.bodyart@ventura.org. Any comments or corrections to be made to the plans will be e-mailed to
the contractor and owner. Once the plans have been approved by this division, you may begin the
construction of the body art facility.

Prior to opening up for business, an inspection at the facility will be conducted to determine that the
proposed body art facility and its method of operation have met the specifications of the approved
plans. You may open for business once the health permit is issued by this division, and you have
obtained all necessary permits.
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BODY ART FACILITY PLANS

The following locations of the body art facility shall be outlined in your schematic or drawing of the

plans:

1. Waiting Area — Should be away from the procedure area.

2. Front Counter Area — Should have the practitioners’ certificate of registration and all necessary
health permits posted.

3. Procedure Area(s) — Room(s), or designated portion of a room, that is set apart and only used to

perform body art. The procedure area shall be equipped with a light source that provides adequate
light. The area shall be separated, by a wall or ceiling-to-floor partition, from nail and hair activities.
The procedure area shall also be equipped with a handwash sink(s) supplied with hot and cold
running water, containerized liquid soap, and single-use paper towels that are dispensed from a
wall-mounted, touchless dispenser.

Workstation — The area within a procedure area where a practitioner performs body art. The
workstation includes, but is not limited to, the client chair, or table, counter, instrument tray, storage
drawer, and practitioner’s chair.

Decontamination and Sterilization Area — Shall be separated from the procedure area(s) by a
space of at least five feet or by a cleanable barrier. It shall also be equipped with a sink supplied
with hot and cold running water, liquid soap in a wall mounted dispenser, and single-use paper
towels that are dispensed from a wall-mounted, touchless dispenser that is readily accessible to
the practitioner.

Lined Waste Containers — Shall be located at each procedure area and decontamination and
sterilization area.

Handwashing Sink(s) — Must be located inside each restroom and in the procedure area(s) and
made accessible to practitioners. Handwash sinks must be supplied with hot and cold running
water, containerized liquid soap, and single-use paper towels that are dispensed from a wall-
mounted, touchless dispenser.

Sharps Containers — Sharps containers shall be available at each procedure area. They shall
be portable, if portability is necessary to ensure that the sharps container is within arm’s reach of
the practitioner. The sharps waste container shall be labeled with the words “sharps waste” or
with the international biohazard symbol and the word “BIOHAZARD.” All sharps waste produced
during the process of tattooing, body piercing, branding, or the application of permanent cosmetics
shall be disposed by either of the following methods:
¢ Removal and disposal by a licensed medical waste hauler, or removal and transportation
through a mail-back system authorized by the State Department of Public Health.
e As solid waste, after being disinfected by a method approved by the department pursuant
to paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 118215 of the Medical Waste Management
Act.
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9. Autoclave and Ultrasonic Machine — Shall be located in the decontamination and sterilization
area/room. The steam autoclave should be placed in a separate and clean area inside the
decontamination and sterilization room away from the bio sink. Only equipment manufactured for
the sterilization of medical instruments shall be used.  Provide a copy of the manufacturer’s
specification for the autoclave. A spore test result showing the steam autoclave to be used is
operational shall be provided. The spore test must be recent (less than 30 days) and sampled
according to manufacturer’s recommendation for testing for non-use, re-conditioning, repair, or
handling for relocation. Provide a copy of the service agreement with the spore testing laboratory.
If using an ultrasonic machine, it can be placed near the bio sink. An ultrasonic machine is not
required if manual washing is to be conducted instead of a chemical washing.

10.Floors and Walls — The body art facility shall have floors and walls that are smooth, free of holes,
and washable. Provide information regarding the materials used for the floors as well as the
materials used for the cabinets and counters (for example, concrete, laminate, tile, etc.).

11.Storage Cabinets — Clean instruments and sterilized instrument packs shall be placed in clean,
dry, labeled containers, or stored in a labeled cabinet that is protected from dust and moisture.

12.Branding Area/Room — Must be conducted in a procedure area. No other clients are allowed in

the procedure area during a branding procedure. Appropriate protective face filter masks are
required.

SHARPS DISPOSAL WEB LINKS

Click the link below for a list of CDPH approved medical waste transporters
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DRSEM/CDPH%20Document%20Library/EMB/MedicalWaste/Haulers _021722.pdf

Click the link below for requirements on CDPH approved mail back services
https://pe.usps.com/Archive/HTML/DMMArchive20100607/601.htm

Click the link below for a list of CDPH approved alternative treatment technologies
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DRSEM/CDPH%20Document%20Library/EMB/MedicalWaste/Alt%20Tech%20List%20%20050219.pdf
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HOME BASED BODY ART FACILITIES

Body art procedures are not allowed to be conducted from within a private home.

Body art procedure areas are to be separate from any residential areas used for sleeping, bathing, or
meal preparation. A body art facility associated with a residential dwelling shall have a separate
entrance and toilet facility, and shall not have a door allowing direct access between the body art
facility and the residential dwelling.

If you plan on operating a body art facility associated with a residential dwelling, you must obtain all
necessary permits and approval from the local City or County entity, including a health permit and
body art practitioner registration from the Ventura County Environmental Health Division.

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED WHEN PLANS ARE SUBMITTED

Completed plan check application

Ensure all Body Art Practitioners that will be working or anticipated to work in the body art

facility are registered with this Division.

Proof of compliance with local city permits and zoning requirements.

The facility's client consent forms, medical history questionnaire and after care directions.

Completed Finish Schedule and Site Map

If the facility will be using a steam autoclave, provide the following:

e Copy of the service agreement with the spore testing laboratory

e Copy of the steam autoclave's manufacturer's specification.

7. A copy of the body art facility’s proposed Infection Prevention and Control Plan. The plan

shall be provided by the owner or established by the practitioners, specifying the following

areas:

e Procedures for decontaminating and disinfecting environmental surfaces.

e Procedures for decontaminating, packaging, sterilizing and storing reusable instruments.

e Procedures for protecting clean instruments and sterile instrument packs from exposure
to dust and moisture during storage.

e A setup and tear down procedure for any form of body art performed at the body art
facility.

e Techniques to prevent the contamination of instruments or the procedure site during the
performance of body art.

e Procedures for safe handling and disposal of sharps waste.

N =
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The Infection Prevention and Control Plan shall be revised when changes are made in infection
prevention practices, procedures, or tasks. Onsite training on the facility’s Infection Prevention and
Control Plan shall take place when tasks where occupational exposure may occur are initially
assigned, any time there are changes in the procedures or tasks and when new technology is
adopted for use in the facility, but not less than once each year. Records of training shall be
maintained for three years and shall be available for inspection upon request of the enforcement
officer.
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ITEMS REQUIRED AT THE TIME OF THE PERMIT INSPECTION

Client consent forms — see below for details.

Written aftercare instructions — see below for details.

Client medical questionnaires and proposed locked storage unit.

Bio sink supplied with hot and cold running water, containerized liquid soap, and single-use paper

towels that are dispensed from a wall-mounted, touchless dispenser.

Handwash sinks supplied with hot and cold running water, containerized liquid soap, and single-

use paper towels that are dispensed from a wall-mounted, touchless dispenser.

6. Decontamination and Sterilization room set-up with the steam autoclave machine and ultrasonic
machine, if applicable.

7. Arecent spore test (less than 30 days) and sampled according to manufacturer’'s recommendation
for testing for non-use, re-conditioning, repair, or handling for relocation.

8. Single use supplies for the body art facility, such as gloves, tattoo equipment, needles, disposable
ink containers, disposable plastic wrap or other coverings for chair, tattoo machine, workstation,
etc.

9. Approved EPA or DPR disinfectants to be used at the body art facility.

10. Sharps containers.

11. Lined waste containers.

12. Accessible restroom with handwash sink supplied with hot and cold running water, containerized
liquid soap, and single-use paper towels that are dispensed from a wall- mounted, touchless
dispenser.

13. Storage cabinets.

14. Adequate lighting.

15. Body art facility that is clean, free of vermin and rodents, free of holes and in good repair.

PN PE

o

Client consent forms shall have a description of the procedure, a statement regarding the
permanent nature of the body art, a description of what to expect after the procedure, suggested care
and information on medical complications that may occur as a result of the procedure. The consent
form must include a notice that tattoo inks, dyes and pigments have not been approved by the federal
Food and Drug Administration and that the health consequences of using these products are
unknown. The consent form must include post-procedure instructions with information on the care of
the procedure site, restrictions on physical activities, signs and symptoms of infection and signs that
indicate the need to seek medical care.

Medical history questionnaire forms are required to include information such as, whether the client
may be pregnant, has a history of herpes infection at the proposed procedure site, diabetes, allergic
reactions to latex or antibiotics, hemophilia or other bleeding disorder, or cardiac valve disease. It
should also include if the person has a history of medication use or is currently using medication,
including being prescribed antibiotics prior to any dental or surgical procedures and other risk factors
for bloodborne pathogen exposure. The complete and signed questionnaire requesting medical
history shall be kept in a secure and confidential locked storage on file with the permanent or mobile
body art facility.
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BLOODBORNE PATHOGEN INFECTION CONTROL TRAINING

Body art procedures, such as tattooing, branding, body piercing and permanent cosmetics can
potentially provide an exposure to bloodborne pathogens from one person to the next. To ensure the
safety of the practitioner and client, proper safety precautions and procedures should be followed
within the body art facility.

Body art practitioners, contractors, volunteers and employees that could possibly have a bloodborne
pathogen exposure are required to complete a bloodborne pathogen training class that meets the
requirements of the California Occupational Safety and Health Administration Bloodborne Pathogen
Standard contained in section 5193 of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations. Bloodborne
pathogen training classes and trainers must be approved by this division a list of approved trainers
can be found on our website at https://vcrma.org/body-art-program.

The training and training material must be specific to performing body art and shall consist of not less
than two hours of instruction. Records of training shall be maintained for three years and shall be
available for inspection upon request of the enforcement officer.

The training must be consistent with the following:

e Training shall be conducted by a person or persons who are knowledgeable in exposure
control and infection prevention in the body art setting and who are approved by the local
enforcement agency in accordance with the provisions of the California Health and Safety
Code.

e Training shall include a copy and explanation of the California Occupational Safety and
Health Administration Bloodborne Pathogens Standard contained in Section 5193 of Title
8 of the California Code of Regulations, or its successor.

e A copy and explanation of applicable county, city, or city and county ordinances that pertain
to bloodborne pathogen transmission control in body art.

e Discussion of transmission, control, and symptoms of the diseases caused by bloodborne
pathogens.

e Discussion of tasks involved in performing body art and how those tasks may lead to
exposure to bloodborne pathogens for the client or practitioner.

e Discussion of the types and uses of personal protective equipment, such as disposable
gloves, including an explanation of the limitations of the equipment.

e Discussion of the types of tasks, proper task technique, and order of tasks before and after
putting on and removing personal protective equipment, to avoid contamination.

e Discussion of the importance of hand hygiene and a demonstration of proper hand hygiene
techniques.

e Discussion of choice, use, and storage of disinfectants and antiseptics.

¢ Information on the signage required for biohazard materials and the importance of properly
labeling chemicals and supplies.

¢ Information on hepatitis B vaccine, including safety and accessibility.

e Discussion of what constitutes a bloodborne pathogen exposure incident, including all of
the following:

1. Examples of bloodborne pathogen exposure, how the exposure occurred,
and what actions to take to prevent or minimize future exposures.

2. Risk of infection following a bloodborne pathogen exposure incident.

3. Procedures to be followed after an exposure incident, including
medical follow-up.

4. Opportunities for interactive questions and answers with the instructor.
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Example Site Plan

= |

@@

.:mmwm_ﬁm

counter

——

Cabinets

Handwash
Sink
Office Station 3
Break Area .
- r 4
/
Procedure Area
M—.E_Gm _H_
M Station 2
2
# Procedure Area
Storage . @
Cabinets
Reception (3 ]
@ Drawing/
Stencil
. Area L
Displayjof 2 h \
Jewelry,

9

Waiting Area

Station 1

Counter @

Sharps

Entrance

Y

w*o_.mmw
Cabinats

1 Reception Desk - not required to be shown
2 Display Case - not required to be shown
3 Drawing / Stencil Area - not required to be shown
4 Storage Cabinets - required to be shown
5 Chair- not required to be shown
6 Armrest - not required to be shown
7 Lamp - not required to be shown
/
@ 8 Counter - required to be shown
= _ 9 Procedure Area Bed / Chair -
_ not required to be shown
“_u_m:.u_:u 10| Sharps Containers - not required to be shown
Chair/
Bed 11| Work Station Tray - not required to be shown
a 12| Procedure Area - required to be shown
13| Office / Break Room - not required to be shown
\“ |..m_f# | 14| Handwash Sink - required to be shown
6= 15)] | 15| Liquid Soap - required to be shown
[l 16| Single - Use Paper Towel Dispenser-
Janitor required to be shown
lgset .
0 17| Bathroom - required to be shown
18 | Piercing Chair/ Bed - not required to be shown
._\ . 19| Body Piercing Room - required to be shown
mnﬁ.___nw_ on- =
NOOH_.._ [— 20| Janitor Closet - not required to be shown
..u @ 21| Bio Sink - required to be shown
22| Sterilization Room - required to be shown
l@l@l 23| Autoclave - required to be shown
24| Ultrasonic Machine - not required to be shown
25| Waiting Room - required to be shown

Page 11 of 12

S:\Medical Waste and Body Art\Body Art\Forms\Body Art Facility Plan Check Guide.docx



EXAMPLE FINISH SCHEDULE

Item Description

Location

Supplies

Handwash sink

Restroom

Hot and cold running water, containerized
liquid soap, and single-use paper towels
from a wall mounted touchless dispenser.

Handwash sink

Procedure Area(s)

Hot and cold running water, containerized
liquid soap, and single-use paper towels
from a wall mounted touchless dispenser.

Bio sink

Decontamination &
Sterilization Room

Hot and cold running water.

Provide Specification Sheets for Each Equipment:

ltem Location Manufacturer Model Number
Autoclave
Ultrasonic
Machine
Provide Specification Sheets for EQuipment:
Permanent Cosmetic Machine Manufacturer Make and Model Number

Provide Specification Sheets for Equipment:

Water Heater Manufacturer & Model Number

Size of Water Heater

Item Description

Floors

Walls

Restroom

Procedure Areas

Decontamination &
Sterilization Room

Body Piercing Room

Drawing/Stencil Area

Reception and Waiting Area

Provide Specification Sheets for Each Equipment:

Equipment Listings

Description of Material

Practitioner Chair

Client Chair

Body Piercing Table

Stool

Arm Rest

Mayo Trays

Counters

Storage Cabinets

Disposable Instruments
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